Don's Home Places Scotland Scotland Maps Contact
Scotland is generally divided into major geographic regions as follows:
  • Highlands
  • Central Lowlands (Midland Valley)
  • Southern Uplands
  • Northern Islands (Orkney's, Shetland)
  • Western Islands (Outer and Inner Herbrides)
However, there are many other ways of dividing the country. See maps below.

Source: Scottish Mountaineering Club

Source: Gazetteer for Scotland
Other Maps:
Scotland at
Arran at our Genealogy Web site
Ordnance Survey Get-a-Map
List at Gateway to Scotland,
Gazetteer at U. Edinburgh,
Maps of Scotland at
Lonley Planet, Yahoo Interactive (Incl. travel directions)
About Scotland (Tour Map)
West Highland Way
Skye and Mull
Loch Lomond
Regions defined at The National Tourism Board

Return to World

last updated 5 Oct 2010
Central Areas Central Areas