New York-Newark-Bridgeport, NY-NJ-CT-PA Combined Statistical Areas (CSA)

The CSA's replaced the old classification of Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Areas (CMSA). See Below.

Old - New York, Northern New Jersey, Long Island (NY NJ CT PA)
Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area (CMSA)
. Sometimes called "major metropolitan areas"
14 PMSAs and 32 counties.

Central NJ Counties | County Maps at NACO

Primary Metropolitan Statistical Areas (PMSA) and Counties
Area Population
(1990 to 2000)
New York, Northern New Jersey,
Long Island, (NY NJ CT PA) CMSA
21,199,865 8.40%
Bergen--Passaic, NJ PMSA 1,373,167 7.40%
Bergen County 884,118 7.10%
Passaic County 489,049 7.90%
Bridgeport, CT PMSA 459,479 3.60%
Fairfield County (part) 345,708 3.20%
New Haven County (part) 113,771 4.80%
Danbury, CT PMSA 217,980 12.60%
Fairfield County (part) 183,303 12.70%
Litchfield County (part) 34,677 11.80%
Dutchess County, NY PMSA 280,150 8.00%
Dutchess County 280,150 8.00%
Jersey City, NJ PMSA 608,975 10.10%
Hudson County 608,975 10.10%
1,169,641 14.70%
Hunterdon County 121,989 13.20%
Middlesex County 750,162 11.70%
Somerset County 297,490 23.80%
Monmouth--Ocean, NJ PMSA 1,126,217 14.20%
Monmouth County 615,301 11.20%
Ocean County 510,916 17.90%
Nassau--Suffolk, NY PMSA 2,753,913 5.50%
Nassau County 1,334,544 3.70%
Suffolk County 1,419,369 7.40%
New Haven--Meriden, CT PMSA 542,149 2.30%
Middlesex County (part) 19,112 8.70%
New Haven County (part) 523,037 2.00%
New York, NY PMSA 9,314,235 9.00%
Bronx County 1,332,650 10.70%
Kings County 2,465,326 7.20%
New York County 1,537,195 3.30%
Putnam County 95,745 14.10%
Queens County 2,229,379 14.20%
Richmond County 443,728 17.10%
Rockland County 286,753 8.00%
Westchester County 923,459 5.60%
Newark, NJ PMSA 2,032,989 6.10%
Essex County 793,633 2.00%
Morris County 470,212 11.60%
Sussex County 144,166 10.10%
Union County 522,541 5.80%
Warren County 102,437 11.80%
Newburgh, NY--PA PMSA 387,669 15.50%
Orange County, NY 341,367 11.00%
Pike County, PA 46,302 65.60%
Stamford--Norwalk, CT PMSA 353,556 7.20%
Fairfield County (part) 353,556 7.20%
Trenton, NJ PMSA 350,761 7.70%
Mercer County 350,761 7.70%
Waterbury, CT PMSA 228,984 3.3%
Litchfield County (part) 41,784 8.2%
New Haven County (part) 187,200 2.3%
Data at

Combined Statistical Areas (CSA):

In June, 2003 by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) created new metropolitan areas replacing the seventeen Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Areas (CMSA's). They were composed of two or more adjoining metropolitan areas which had demonstrated some economic linkage. The metropolitan areas which were joined into a CMSA were called Primary Metropolitan Statistical Areas (PMSA).

The OMB released its December 2003 updates in February 2004. According to the updates, there is a new group of classifications - 578 micropolitan statistical areas, 29 metropolitan divisions (MetroDivs), and 123 combined statistical areas (CSAs).

The New York-Newark-Bridgeport, NY-NJ-CT-PA Combined Statistical Area (ID 408) Includes: CBSA Locations 14860 Bridgeport-Stamford-Norwalk, CT Metropolitan Statistical Area 28740 Kingston, NY Metropolitan Statistical Area 35300 New Haven-Milford, CT Metropolitan Statistical Area 35620 New York-Newark-Edison, NY-NJ-PA Metropolitan Statistical Area 39100 Poughkeepsie-Newburgh-Middletown, NY Metropolitan Statistical CBSAs (Core Based Statistical Area)

New Jersey
   Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ Metropolitan Statistical Area
   Atlantic City, NJ Metropolitan Statistical Area
   New York-Newark-Bridgeport, NY-NJ-CT-PA Combined Statistical Area
   Ocean City, NJ Metropolitan Statistical Area
   Philadelphia-Camden-Vineland, PA-NJ-DE-MD Combined Statistical Area
2004 Revised OMB Metropolitan-Area Definitions
MSAs Metropolitan statistical areas have at least one urbanized area of 50,000 or more in population, plus adjacent territory that has a high degree of social and economic integration with the core as measured by commuting ties.
Micropolitan Statistical Area Micropolitan statistical areas have at least one urban cluster of at least 10,000 but less than 50,000 in population, plus adjacent territory that has a high degree of social and economic integration with the core as measured by commuting ties.
MetroDivs Metropolitan divisions: If the specified criteria are met, a metropolitan statistical area containing a single core with a population of 2.5 million or more may be subdivided to form smaller groupings of counties referred to as metropolitan divisions.
CSAs Combined Statistical Areas: If specified criteria are met, adjacent metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas, in various combinations, may become the components of a new set of areas called combined statistical areas. For instance, a combined statistical area may comprise two or more metropolitan statistical areas, a metropolitan statistical area and a micropolitan statistical area, two or more micropolitan statistical areas, or multiple metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas.
Examples for Calif.
Fresno-Madera, CA
Los Angeles-Long Beach-Riverside, CA
Sacramento--Arden-Arcade--Truckee, CA-NV
San Jose-San Francisco-Oakland, CA

Los Angeles-Riverside-Orange County, CA (CMSA) 
 (Los Angeles-Long Beach,  Orange County, Riverside-San Bernardino, Ventura)
Sacramento-Yolo, CA (CMSA)

San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose, CA (CMSA) 
 (Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, Santa Cruz-Watsonville, Santa Rosa, 

See: Maps at
Micropolitan and Metropolitan Areas at
Metropolitan Statistical Areas and CSA's and CSA table (Excel) at the Census Bureau

Return to NE New Jersey

last updated 11 May 2002