Under Construction
There are 5 basic tastes:
Sweetness - Fruit, grains, natural sugars, milk
Sourness - Sour fruits, yogurt, fermented foods
Saltiness - Natural salts, sea vegetables
Bitterness - Dark leafy greens, herbs and spices
Umami - From Japanese translated as pleasant savory taste.  Added in 1985
         Asparagus, tomatoes, cheese, fish, shellfish, cured meats, mushrooms, anchovies
Ayurvedic cooking has 6 tastes. The above but with Pungent and Astringent in plae of Umami.

Culinary Dictionary, Gastronomy Definitions | WhatsCookingAmerica.net

last updated 21 Jan 2013